“WHAT’S LOVE GOT TO DO WITH  IT?”
| AUGUST 15

“Wives,submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the
wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which He is the
Savior.
Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit
to
their husbands in everything. Husbands, LOVE YOUR WIVES, just as
Christ
loved the church and gave Himself up to her.” Ephesians 5: 22-25

Much earlier in this book, we spoke of the possible need for a so-called “newer testament”. Suffice it to say that this is one of those passages that begs that question. The preceding passage, arguably suggests sexism. Some claim that organized religions are sexist. Moslem women must cover their faces. Catholic women are ineligible for the priesthood. Orthodox Judaism is, some have argued, a men-only club.  How can we subscribe to the notion of the Bible’s being Divinely-inspired without accepting female subjugation, slavery, bigamy and the like? It all gets back to the perception we have of God as the Author of Love.

Today’s verse DOES speak of subjugation of women, but it all but orders the men to LOVE their wives. Moreover, love is defined rather explicitly: it is the kind of love that Christ had for the church and His people. A love that has God as its foundation is one in which each of the parties subjugates her or his own needs for the sake of the other. Certainly, Christ demonstrated this by sacrificing His very life for us.  Nevertheless, there’s no denying the first part of the verse. The fact is that there are Biblical passages that reflect the character of the day. What is, however, consistent through the centuries is the notion of Godly love. Man, not God, has demeaned women over the years. God urges us to love our spouses, just as He has loved us. It is a love in which both spouses play leading roles as well as supporting roles. God is love. His whole essence is about love. “What’s love got to do with it?” Everything.

FORGIVE | NOVEMBER 30

“For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father
will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins,
your
Father will not forgive your sins.” Matthew 6: 14 & 15

“The Hiding Place,” by Corrie Ten Boom is an autobiographical account of a life that included imprisonment at Ravensbruck concentration camp with her sister Betsie. Just days before her ownrelease from camp, her sister Betsie perished. They were sent there by the Nazis for harboring Jews in their home during the Holocaust.  In memory of her sister’s selfless love and forgiveness, Corrie founded a postwar home for other camp survivors who were recovering from the horrors of life in these camps. Corrie traveled throughout Europe as a missionary, preaching God’s love and forgiveness and the need to extend the hand of reconciliation to one’s tormenters.

It’s never easy to recount the horrors of your past life and to relive them each day,
especially when you’ve lost loved ones and you’re still alive.  One chapter in her book is entitled: “I’m Still Learning to Forgive.” One day, she was in Munich, spreading God’s love and the need to forgive, when she experienced a true example of practicing what one preaches. She noticed a balding, heavy-set man, who was clearly approaching her. As he neared, she had a sudden flashback of this man, a guard
in the camp, confronting her frail sister Betsie. Suddenly, the man began speaking to her: “You mentioned Ravensbruck in your talk. I was a guard in there.” He claimed
not to remember her. “Since that time,” he went on, “ I have become a
Christian. I know that God has forgiven me for the cruel things I did there,
but I would like to hear it from your lips as well, Fraulein,…” he extended
his hand and said: “will you forgive me?” Corrie stood there numbed and immobile.
She could not. Her thoughts began to wander about her sister Betsie. She
wondered: could he erase her slow terrible death simply by asking. Although he
was there for only seconds Corrie was still deliberating for what seemed hours.
She knew she had to do it. She was reminded of the text “if you do not
forgive men their trespasses,” Jesus said: “neither will your Father in heaven
forgive your trespasses.” She knew her heart felt cold, but forgiveness was not
an emotion. She knew it was an act of the will, and the will can function,
regardless of the temperature of the heart. She prayed “Jesus, help me!” “I can
lift my hand. I can do that much.  You supply the feeling.”

“And so woodenly, mechanically, I thrust my hand into the one stretched out to me. And as I did, an incredible thing took place. The current started in my shoulder, raced down my arm, sprang into our joined hands. And then this healing warmth seemed to flood my whole being, bringing tears to my eyes.”  “I forgive you, brother!” I cried, “With all my heart!” For a long moment they grasped each other’s hands, the former guard and the former prisoner. She had never known God’s love as intensely as
she did then.

Alexander Pope once wrote, “To err is human, to forgive is divine.” Are you struggling with a deep seated hurt that cannot be forgiven? Is your tormentor someone you know or a total stranger? Friend, God is extending His hand of reconciliation to you today. Grasp it, and you too will be forgiven. Do not wait to feel your need, but accept His
invitation of forgiveness now. When you do you too will feel an intense love from
God that you’ve never known. You will feel the divine love of God’s forgiveness.

JESUS CHRIST | DECEMBER 31

“He which testifies these things says, ‘Surely I come quickly.” Amen.  Even
so, come, Lord Jesus. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be
with
you all. Amen.” Revelation 22: 20 & 21 (KJV)

We’ve come to the last day of the year and the end of this year’s devotional. It is difficult to say good-bye. A New Year approaches. The cycle begins anew. What has your past year been like? Are you ready for another dose of resolutions? Will your new list be better than last year’s? Were you able to adhere to last year’s list?  Can you say you know God a little better than a year ago?  As I have explained, this devotional was a response to my late mother’s desire to portray God in a clearer light than that
to which we have been accustomed.

This devotional book has been in the making for over ten years. During these years, I have seen the best of times and the worst of times in my life.  It’s been a bitter-sweet time for me. The sweet time was having finished this book.  The worst time, without question, was my mother’s passing on April 21, 2007.  She never saw the finished product. I genuinely wish you could have known her. It would be folly to attempt to
capture her essence in a single day’s devotional. But as I talk about her, it is
compelling clear to me that she was Jesus Christ. I know…you are thinking that
either I have a very big head or I am committing blasphemy. Allow me, please, to
explain.  There was no one I ever respected more or honored and revere than her. She embodied the Spirit of God. I did not know this growing up because I took her for granted. After all, she was my mother. However, as I reflect back on the years she was with me, I can now comprehend how God loves me. She was NOT a God, she was, however, the personification of Godliness. She was a humble and benevolent woman, after God’s own heart.

You may think I am giving praise and glory that are due only to
God. My mother was Jesus Christ on earth. She lived the Godly life of Christ.
Granted she was not perfect, but her godly love was. Where love abounds there
is God. Reflecting back on her life, I wish I had spent more time with her.
I miss Jesus. Yes, there is no doubt many others like her, and you would do well
to get to know them because that is how you will grow closer to your
Maker. They are the Jesus Christ we encounter daily who bless us. I’m continually
being blessed. May the grace of our Lord be with you all.   Amen.

I have experienced Jesus Christ through the
following people in my life:  Juan Acedo, Sonya Acera, Bryan, Mark &
Laurie Anderson, Kathryn, Tracy, Lahnie, Shaun, Jay, Gabrielle, Edward
Jr., Walter Jr., Marlow, Troy Anderson, Leslie & Bubut Anderson, Grace
& David, Jane, May, Vivian & Esmer Montoya, Linda & Jim, Dean,
Jemma, Nimrod & Fina, Nelson, Edwin, Myrna & Oscar Obligacion, Susan
& Nat Fajardo, Bob & Barbara Anderson, Ising & Charles Anderson,
Virginia & Oming Quizon, Anne Arrevalo, Jun & Cookie Atiga, Shubert
Atiga, Fred Balictar, Mrs. Balictar, Prom & Norma Amoguis, John W. Bennett,
Don Bitz, Bruce Boyd, Silvino & Melissa Briceno, Sherrie Burke, Fred
Casey, Tom Chatt, Johnathan & Cecil Coo, Michelle & Michael Camerlingo,
Regner & Lourdes Cunanan, Guillermo & Esther Chaidez, Romeo,
Puring, Clifford, Cedric & Crystal, Karl & Karla Cunanan, John DiPiziano,DDS; Nick Donnath, Paul Dudley, Kevin & Valerie Enright, Ron Ewell, Harold & Eleanor Fanselau,
Migulito & Lucy Fernando, Reglio Fernandez, George Ferrer, Larry Fish, Cheryl
& Ray Flauta, Bill Chunestudy, Rosina Cunanan-Frazier, Barton von Gal, Mike
& Jennifer Gifford, Nito & Patricia Gil, Heidi Gil-Gonsier, Heather Gil,
Kathleen Geraty, Frank Gandy, Merwyn & Daisy Goltiao, Mark Gold, Don
& Anna Greathouse, Paul Hagel, Steve Harding, Ed & Linda Henry, Scott
Hoage, Gary & Suha Huffaker, Henry Huizar, Intissar Issa, Diana Jamison, Rollie, Jenna & R.J., Jacinto, Pastor Jerry & Loida Jereos, Ruben & Naomi Jabola, Terry
Jones, Lorraine Jabola, Meredith & Carol Jobe, DeAnn Knipschild, Pamela Koester,
Carolyn Kay, Susan Klysa, Steve & Sandy Landon, Dick Larson, Laszlo
& Carlyle, Julie & Enoch Lazo, Allen Leno, Dante & Luke LaMadrid,Jeff Miller,
Mike & Tessa Manke, Kathy & Nicole Mathis, Dana Marko, Keith & Suzy Miller,
Jim & Kathleen Manning, J’leen Sager, Bucky, Felipe, Jeannie, Dalton
& Kathleen Maurin, Joakim & Marylou Mendez, Chet Maggie, Beth McCalla,
Jeff Maroni, Lisa & Owen MacIntosh,Johnny Murhammer, Frank &
Nanerl Meza, Debbie & Rick Nuffert, Jody Nyall, Jeremy Ogden, Douglas
Ota, Onie & Ching Pascual, Bob Pellemonter, Danny Perry,Esq., Lanny
& John Perry, Mariano & JoyPenada, Rob Peterson, Florence Ramsey, Debbie
Ramirez, Jason & Robin Romano, Johnathan & Bernadette Romano,
David E. Roseberry, Richard Ramber, George Reming, Scott Sachar, Melvin,
Tessie & Michael Sajid, Vic & Mercyln Seralde, Naomi Santomin Dennis
Sapphire, George Scheideman, Thomas Sim, Coral & Vernon Sheffield,
Charlie & Jill Start, Kevin & Marni Straine, Donna Sutton, David Shelton, Dale
Steiss, Tim Summer, Priscilla Tangunan, Ellenis Todhjojo, Josh Turburon,
Fernando & Darlene Vargas, Mark & Leslie Von Esch, Karla Wells, Paul
Wilcox, Ken Wilson, Jill & Tyrone, Deandra & Juliette Wong, Ronald
& Georgiana Wu, Marty Zelbow.

Forgive me if I am remiss of your name. Be ever vigilant and cognizant that Jesus Christ reveals Himself daily in our lives.